Hello Struggle Town

Our holidays have started, we hit the road and are now at my Dad’s place a couple of days before heading to the coast. It is beautiful here, he is on a bush block outside Canberra. The kids are loving it, Little D has been running all over the yard, on the billy cart and the ride on mower. There is so much space inside the house Little L was speed crawling from one end to the other just for the hell of it! This is going to be our last time here as Dad has sold up. Really sad, but it is better for him.

Meanwhile, this challenges my efforts for the 12WBT. As seems to happen in many households, this holiday only happened because I made the decisions and arrangements. Unfortunately I have run out of steam and am finding meal planning tricky. My Dad is cooking for us (enjoying having someone to share with I think) so my control is limited, so I will have to concentrate on portions – which is fine. The trick is going out during the day.

We are trying to see a couple of friends while here. If we were at home I would pack a bag of snacks and lunch for the kids, but I just don’t have the resources here, plus I really don’t want to go buying stuff that we then have to haul down the coast (very little room in the car). Anyway, I am flat out making arrangements for this kids, so organising for my own meals ahead of time is non-existent.

Struggle 1 – Now holidays for Big D and I means taking the opportunity to have a beer at night. Back in my earlier years I was a world class drinker, seriously. I wasn’t one for spirits but I could mix it with my male friends quite easily drinking beer. Now, I am so far from ‘piss fit’ (apologies but there is no other term I can think of to use!) it is crazy. I have had a beer with my Dad the last two nights, full strength (unusual) and I was falling asleep. At home I am lucky if I have one light beer every fortnight!

Struggle 2 – Getting in exercise. As a family real exercise is not necessarily embraced. My exercising as part of trying to be fit for work, was always the exception to a largely inactive family. This morning I did manage a run for 45 mins which hopefully kept the body remembering what it is meant to do. I am feeling sore from the bed here and I was thinking being tired and sore might be my out, but I just grit my teeth and go it done. Feeling tired but better for it.

Struggle 3 – my family has food issues. Nothing crazy, but we don’t what we are eating, it’s energy or calories. Our portions are too large and sometimes we just go overboard. I think one of our biggest traps are chips! Rarely are they placed in a bowl on the table for all to share civilly. More likely we are standing around in the kitchen with the bag open on the bench, all eating from the bag. It must be unpleasant to watch.

So nice we hit the coast tomorrow, I will have to work out our food for the week, plan activities, coordinate with the extended family, wrap the gifts and fit in conscious eating and awesome exercise. Don’t you love holidays!? I am planning to have two long exercise sessions in the week where I try to crack that 1000cal barrier.

I weighted myself here this morning and am pleased to say I am in the 75 kg’s. I have nearly reached my goal to be close to 75kg for Christmas, that feels awesome. Just have to address each struggle above to make sure I don’t regress.

Anyone else struggling?

Leave a Reply

